LIFE LICENSE FAQ

State License Requirements graphic
Florida License

100% ONLINE


FLORIDA LICENSE

FAQ

What are the fees for obtaining a license?
It depends on the type of license. Check myfloridacfo.com

I've submitted paperwork the last time I applied. Do I need to resubmit the same paperwork?
Any documentation sent to the department is retained in the applicants file. In some cases the documents may need to be resubmitted or new documents may be required.

Can I apply for a license if I have any prior criminal history?
The department looks at all background information on a case-by-case basis. Grounds for discretionary denial of an applicant, due to a criminal record, are listed in Administrative Code 69B-211.042.

I've been approved for an examination but now I have a designation. What do I need to do?
You will need to send the designation to the department. If your authorization for examination has not expired, you will need to call the department to get the application corrected for approval. If the authorization for examination has expired, you will need to reapply for the license.

Do all licenses need appointments?
All licenses require an appointment with the exception of insurance agency licenses and registrations (20-05, 21-05, 90-05, and 91-05).

I've submitted fingerprints to the department for another license. Do I need to do it again?
Fingerprint results are good for 12 months.

I've submitted fingerprints to another department (outside the Division of Agent & Agency Services). Are those fingerprints acceptable?
No. We can not accept fingerprints outside of Agent and Agency Services.

I have a bad credit score. Will this prevent me from getting a license?
No. The department does not look at credit scores.

Do I have to renew my Florida license?
No. A Life license is perpetual, BUT it will expire if it goes for more than 48 months without an appointment.

When does my life license expire?
Licenses will expire if more than 48 months elapse without an appointment. Failure to complete continuing education may result in cancellation of appointment(s).

What do I have to do to get my life license back if it expired?
You must re-qualify as a first-time applicant.

How do I check the status of my application?
The status of applications and licenses can be checked by going to www.myfloridacfo.com/agents and logging in to My Profile.

How do I change my address?
Go to www.myfloridacfo.com/agents and log in to My Profile and select Address Change.

If I apply for the wrong license in general can I get a refund?
No. Applications are not subject to refund, per Florida Statute 626.171(5).

What is the continuing education requirement? When is it due?
The number of continuing education hours required depend on the license type you hold and number of years you've held it. Continuing education is due every 2 years, for most licenses types. You can check your continuing education requirement by going to www.myfloridacfo.com/agents and logging in to My Profile. You can contact the Department of Financial Services at 850-413-3137.

Copyright 2010 Topinsuranceschoolflorida.com 
Florida License

 

Florida Insurance Licensing Procedures

These pages will guide an individual through the multi-step process of becoming a licensed insurance agent in the state of Florida.

Florida Licensing Procedures

Step 1: Prepare for the Florida State Exam by completing the Pre-licensing course of study

1.  We Recomend that anyone entering a new field or industry receive a general education pertinent to their new job. Our Pre-licensing course offers an effective online pre-licensing course, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. After successfully completing your course of study, you will receive your Certificate of Completion.

Step 2:  Submit License Application, fees and fingerprints;
Receive Exam Eligibility Notice

2. After completing your Pre-licensing course,

To download the license application, click here. Select "License Application" and "Individual Applications." You will receive your Examination Eligibility notice from the Department, if approved."

Submit your license application form, fees, and set of fingerprints. To pay for the Live Scan fingerprint process, inquire via the Internet at www.fldfsprints.com or by telephone at (888) 717-5699 and supporting documents to the Florida Department of Financial Services.

The Department will send you an Exam Authorization Notice and give you instructions to call Pearson Vue to make an exam reservation.

You can also check on the State's website at http://www.fldfs.com/ to find out if you have been authorized to take the required examination

Step 3:  Schedule your exam

3. Contact Pearson Vue to make your exam reservation.

• Visit the Pearson Vue Web site (www.pearsonvue.com) or

• Call Pearson Vue at (888) 274-2020

Take note of the date, time and location of your testing center.
Step 4:  Prepare for the State Exam. Enroll for the PassPrep course 4. We recommend taking the PassPrep course. 
Step 5:  Take your Exam and bring ID

5. Take exam at correct location, on scheduled date and time. Arrive 15 minutes early for processing. You must also bring a valid form of identification which meets the following criteria:

  • the document must be government-issued (driver’s license, state-issued identification card or military identification); and
  • the identification must have a current photo and your signature; and
  • the name on the identification must be the same as the
    name used to register for your examination (including
    designations such as “Jr.” or “III,” etc.)
Step 6: Receive Passing Score Report 6. You will receive your passing Score Report upon passing the exam.
Step 7:  License will be issued by Department of Insurance 7.  Your license will be issued once the Department has verified that you have passed the exam.

Contact Information:

All questions and requests for information about examinations should be directed to:

Pearson Vue
Florida Insurance
PO Box 8588
Philadelphia, PA 19101-8588
(888) 274-2020
Web site: www.pearsonvue.com

Questions about license requirements and applications should be directed to:

Florida Department of Financial Services
Bureau of Licensing
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
850.413.3137, ext 1101
Web site: www.fldfs.com

 

 

 

Insurance School

407-279-1139

aaaaaaaaaaaaiii